Many home inspectors consider it their ethical and even moral duty to disclose to all relevant parties any imminent hazards they discover in the course of an inspection. Some inspectors are required by their state’s licensing authority to report emergent hazards on pain of license revocation, especially if such hazards may result in physical injury. At Radar, we work with some of the most well respected and thorough home inspectors around. These inspectors will identify issues with detail so that you can make the most informed decision about your potential home purchase.

Inspectors don’t bear the burden of disclosure alone. The obligation of disclosure also falls to the property owner. The homeowner’s obligation to warn others of any known dangers or hazards on the property is called “the duty to warn.” While a duty to warn is designed to prevent physical injury (and any subsequent legal action and damages), a seller’s disclosure is designed primarily to address a home’s value.

Here are six general categories that should be included in the seller’s disclosures, as they can significantly affect a home’s price:

  1. Termite/wood-destroying organism infestation
  2. Mold and/or damage due to moisture intrusion
  3. Lead-based paint
  4. Natural hazards
  5. General repairs
  6. Infamous or notorious past

A home inspection is a crucial step toward finalizing your real estate transaction and full comprehension of inspection results is essential. A Radar Realty agent will be with you every step of the way to identify which items need immediate attention, speeding you on your way to your purchase or sale.